Get it together!

4 10 2011

I’m following Amy of Amy’s Finer Things for a month of “getting things together.” Boy, do I need this. I feel as if we do fine now… but I am home all day with the children… but next year life will change when the eldest child goes to school. And I will most likely be responsible with getting him there… on time… with lunch… dressed in his uniform… with his backpack and the rest of what he needs… on time… with 2 other small children in tow… in the morning… & on time (did I mention being on time? :).

I’m already shaking in my boots. This will also coincide with the baby starting solid foods. I pray already that this child will give me the blessing of sleep! #2 didn’t sleep through the night until he was 18/19 months. I remember so little of his infancy it makes me sad. I’d wake up in the middle of the night afraid that I didn’t feed him that day. I don’t remember always waiting 4 days inbetween foods, and I’m sure I fed him things he wasn’t supposed to have yet. I don’t know what it was about that kid but my brain barely survived. Apparently, things improved after he started sleeping through the night because now here I am almost halfway through my 3rd pregnancy. Before him I wanted oodles of kids… after him I tottered between “let’s just adopt” and “I might be able to do 1-2 more.” Anyways, I can’t do that again. Even if my brain goes we need to have things in order where the rest of the family can eat, be clothed, and get to where they need to get at the time they need to get there.

Day 1-Goals- I’ve made some goals. I might come back and make a separate post about it.

Day 2-Meal planning- I actually do well with meal planning. Lately I’ve had to start planning out breakfast and lunches for things to run even more smoothly and that is working well so far.

Day 3- 10 time savers-

1. Go to bed early. This has not been an issue. I day dream of my bed most of the day. 🙂

2. Get up early. Not working out too well. I’m still have some morning sickness and it’s way worse if I wake up earlier. So for this season, I’m okay with not waking up uber early to get things done at this season.

3. Budget minutes- need to work on.

4. plan meals- check

5. eat your frog aka just do it. i’m slowly getting better at this. Have seen a big change in the dishes situation.

6. set a timer. i don’t really do this. I don’t feel time pressed, but it’s an excellent motivation tool and I think we could incorporate this as a family.

7. establish routines. we’re getting pretty good at this. Always room for improvement 🙂

8. turn off computer… or limit certain social medias. Every season is different and there are some seasons where I just use the internet to stay connect with certain people and church announcements.

9. clear the clutter- as I sit at a cluttered desk. I’ve seen improvement in this area but still have lots to go!

10. find my groove. I used to do a laundry day which worked well for us but now it’s getting harder to carry up heavy loads from the basement so I think I’m going to switch over to a daily laundry- 1 load per day. Fold and put away. Putting away is the bane of my existance- it often doesn’t happen! I’m going to start making it a chore for my kids to put their clothes away.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment